What is a “foodie”?

Sometimes I think there is a misconception about the term foodie. Beginning with the Wikipedia definition of foodie, a foodie is defined as “an informal term for a particular class of aficionado of food and drink.” However, it differs from gourmet in that “gourmets are epicures of refined taste who may or may not be professionals in the food industry, whereas foodies are amateurs who simply love food for consumption, study, preparation, and news.”

Going with this definition, anyone with a passion for food can be a potentially be a foodie! This is definitely the definition that I would like to embrace throughout this blog and hope to impart to fellow readers.

The blog Slashfood also agrees with this definition and defines a foodie even further as: “To be a foodie is not only to like food, but to be interested in it.” Foodies like myself love learning about food itself and cooking and what tricks chefs use to make certain foods so spectacularly delicious.

Just thought I would use my first entry to clear that misconception up and emphasize again that I am not an expert, just a true lover of food. Can’t wait to begin writing about my food adventures in Washington, DC and beyond!

