Washingtonian Reader Restaurant Survey Winners

Quick post today- but they just released the 33rd Washingtonian Reader Restaurant Survey Winners! I am happy to say that my taste is very similar to many of  my fellow Washingtonian readers in several categories of the survey. My brief reactions to some of the categories:

  • Best Sandwich: The Italian Store is one of my personal favorites. I usually go with the Capri, but there Milano is also very good. I strongly recommend calling ahead especially on weekend afternoons. It is as legit Italian as you’re going to get in this area- homemade sauces, olives, handcrafted pasta, line the walls of the store and the typical Italian grandmother works the cash register.
  • Best New Restaurant: The third place Lyon Hall is fabulous.  Look out for an entry on this later!
  • Best Burgers: Every single one of these picks is amazing- Ray’s Hell Burger, BGR the Burger Joint and Five Guys
  • Best American: I dined at Willow recently with some girl friends- it’s pretty snazzy for being located in Ballston in Arlington, and I was surprised at how elaborate some of the dishes were. Great presentation on the appetizers and entrées.  I was surprised to see Chef Geoff’s— I remember it being really well-priced last time I ate there but not that impressed with the food. Gives me a reason to go back!

Can’t wait to try some of the others ranked on this list!

