JoJo Restaurant in New York City

As promised, here’s the update about one of my food adventures from my trip over New Year’s to Vermont and NYC.

In Killington, VT we ended up cooking-in both nights as there are not a lot of culinary adventures to be had in the town of Killington according to our gracious tour guide and Vermont resident. However, what they say about the maple syrup and Vermont cheddar is true- they beat most cheddars and syrups that I’ve had!

In New York City we made reservations for New Year’s Day at one of the famed Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s restaurants, JoJo.

This is the first of Jean-Georges restaurants that I’ve dined at so unfortunately, I don’t have much to compare to, but hopefully later this year I’ll be able to add on to this entry. I have plans to try his J.G. Steakhouse in Washington, DC.

The first thing that struck me about JoJo is how intimate the place is. There were four of us and we had trouble fitting by the hostess stand without being in the way!  We were seated upstairs where there was a bit more room than the downstairs, but not much more.

The service was excellent- our server was very attentive and well-trained. We chose a bottle of Cabernet for the table and I started with the Ravioli appetizer stuffed with three cheeses, basil and sweet pea. It was complimented with beets and some other vegetables I admittedly didn’t recognize, but the entire dish reminded me of winter. Others at our table ordered the butternut squash soup (amazing texture and not too heavy) and a goat cheese dish which was mostly cheese (fantastic for cheese lovers).

For the main course I went with the veal entree. The veal was cooked to perfection (I ordered medium rare) and the parmesan jus superb with the fall vegetables of carrots, onions, and snap peas. I was in heaven, but it definitely was not a light meal by any means.

Others ordered the salmon with truffled mashed potatoes and vinaigrette, a red snapper special (amazingly cooked) and rack of lamb.

Recommended for: Special occasions, romantic dinners, older patrons.

Pros: Fabulous service, well-prepared food with complimentary flavors and ingredients, and a really romantic and intimate setting. One-star Michelin restaurant and 3 star restaurant according to the New York Times.

Cons: I would be lying if I didn’t say my friends and ,I as mid-twenty year olds rounding out a New Year’s Eve weekend, didn’t feel a bit out of place in this refined setting. JoJo is definitely not  for a loud group of friends or casual dinner. Also, keep in mind the place is teeny tiny (you will see what I mean when you get there!).

