“New Year, New You”- A Word about Detox Diets

First of all, apologies for the infrequent posting- I’m in the process of figuring out my living situation for next year, but I promise to be more on the ball in the coming weeks!

I have to admit, I am not really fan of the New Year and what it brings to the food and advertising industry in general. An overwhelming amount of weight loss television and print ads bombard viewers and readers. The gym becomes overly crowded with those who vow to remain dedicated now that January is here. And lately, I’ve been reading and hearing all about these “cleanses” and “detoxes” that are great for ridding your body of toxins and beginning the New Year on the right foot.

I have to admit I’ve read and heard a ton of horrible things about these detoxes and cleanses. I was pretty skeptical, but I stumbled across one that didn’t include “purging” (aka laxatives or ingesting salt water- ick!).

I have decided I’m going to attempt to do one next week and blog about my experience. You may have initially inferred that I’m not the healthiest of eaters from my entries thus far, but I actually am pretty good during the week, and definitely agree that obesity is a huge problem in our country right now.

It says to do a detox for 7 days each month (or alternatively 1 day ever week or 3 days every other week) and suggests a lot of green foods, raw veggies, and 20% whole grains. Absolutely no alcohol, dairy, meat….any of the good stuff basically haha. We will see how this goes and how long I’m able to keep it up!

Detox Diet Example; Flickr credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/kahala

