Brunch at Lyon Hall

Lyon Hall is one of my favorite “new” (just under a year old) restaurants in the DC area. Located in the heart of Clarendon in Arlington, the restaurant features Belgian/German/Austrian/French nuances– which can be overwhelming to those with simpler tastes. They recently pared down their menu a bit to give the place a more “focused” feel, however, and I would venture to say the place features the best beer and wine list in the Arlington area, and also has excellent customer service.

I’ve dined at Lyon Hall for lunch once, dinner twice and this past weekend enjoyed brunch with a close friend and her boyfriend. I definitely recommend the mussels and frites and oysters for those seafood lovers. Their fries feature a persillade seasoning that is to die for. I’ve also had the skirt steak and frites and the steak was cooked to absolute perfection! The menu also has a variety of sausages, of which I’ve enjoyed the bratwurst kaisenkrainer and a kilbassa which no longer seems to be on the menu, but perhaps is returning this summer?

This past Sunday, we dined inside (their outside area features a fountain and great seats for people-watching in Clarendon) and I began the meal with a bloody mary, garnished with pickled vegetables and finished with a beer chaser.

We ordered their donut sampler to start which included a key lime pie, vanilla cake, blackberry, coffee and chocolate donuts with a side of mascarpone.

I think my favorite aspect of Lyon Hall is its creative and inventive feel throughout its menu. It is certainly not your typical “bar” that you find throughout Arlington and DC and the menu definitely takes risks.

My friend and I opted for brunch options– I went with the Hash and Eggs which featured braised shortrib mixed with potatoes, pickle and seasoning– while my friend went with the Bacon Poached Eggs. I wish there had been more braised shortrib is my only complaint about my delicious meal.

Eggs and Hash

Bacon Poached Eggs

My friend’s boyfriend went with a lunch option- The Lyon Hall Burger- which features some of those yummy fries and house mustard (delicious).

The brunch menu certainly does not disappoint– the only complaint I have is that it does get really crowded for brunch and our waiter was a little overwhelmed. Our food took a lot longer than it normally does when I’ve dined at the place before- so I’m hoping it was just a one-time incident.

Recommended for: Date nights, brunch, dinner with friends, drinks and appetizers, those looking for something “different” than your average Arlington bar

Pros: Decently priced, lots of variety and creativity in the menu items, amazing beer and wine list, friendly servers/great service

Cons: Limited street parking  (try the garage of the Phoenix on Hudson Ave after Highland- their retail spaces are free on weekends and after 6pm during the week), ALWAYS crowded (always.)

