A Foodie Soldier, New Event, and McLean Restaurant Opening

  • In my random daily internet searching, I came across an article (before you judge what site it’s found on, hear me out) in my Google search results that profiled Lt. Cmdr. Morgan Murphy, Dir of Media Outreach for ISAF – the International Security Assistance Force helping to keep the peace in Afghanistan . Lt. Cmdr. Murphy is certainly someone you don’t find every day- a soldier who has also authored his very own cookbook, Southern Living’s Off the Eaten Path: Favorite Southern Dives and 150 Recipes That Made Them Famous. I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for southern food (most of my dad’s family is from the south) and soldiers (my dad graduated from USMA ’77) so I felt I had to call attention to this fellow foodie who also dutifully serves our country.
  • Yesterday it was announced that the Los Angeles Times and Food & Wine’s THE TASTE are bringing about a new food event- they are essentially combining “The Taste of Beverly Hills” and “Los Angeles Times Celebration of Food & Wine” events from last year. It’s a huge festival happening over Labor Day weekend September 2nd-5th and featuring tons of food events, demonstrations, tastings, seminars, and celebrity chefs including Giada De Laurentiis,Scott ConantArt SmithLudo LefebvreMichael VoltaggioClaire RobinsonDebi Mazar and Gabriele Corcos.For more information, including programming and event updates and tickets,visit www.latimes.com/THETASTE and follow Facebook.com/LATimesEvents and Twitter:@LATimesEvents.
  • Tasting Table today highlighted the new Harth restaurant that just opened in the Hilton Hotel in McLean, VA.  The restaurant’s centerpiece is its wood-burning oven and the menu features “smoked” and “fire-roasted” items. The extensive wine list is full of “smoky reds” — everything on the menu gives a subtle nod to an evening spent in front of a campfire.
