Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Tomatoes and Fresh Mozzarella

Yesterday I tried yet another recipe from the lovely Giada de Laurentiis and my favorite Food Network website. (I previously cooked her Spaghetti with Pinot Grigio and Seafood). Again, this ended up being an amazingly simple recipe- one of the easiest, quickest and inexpensive meals I’ve made in a long time.

First you mix chopped tomatoes (about 2-3 depending on how many portobello mushrooms you plan on using), chopped water-packed mozzarella (8 oz), salt, pepper, 2 chopped garlic cloves,  chopped basil, and 3 tbsps of olive oil in a bowl.

You can see that my knife skills need some work.

Grill the large, stemmed portobello mushrooms for about four minutes on each side, or until they are tender. I opted to only use two mushrooms as I was cooking for just me last night. A useful trick my mother taught me for cleaning mushrooms is to use a damp paper towel and gently wipe the mushrooms to clean off any debris. I used the lean, mean, grilling machine known as the Foreman Grill, so I cooked the mushrooms for only four minutes total since the machine cooks on both sides.

Spoon the tomato salad on top of the mushroom and perfecto! You have one easy meal that is actually quite filling. I was completely stuffed after one mushroom! Despite the few ingredients involved, the meal was quite flavorful. I highly recommend this for an easy, mid-week dinner. Enjoy!

