Restaurant Week is Here!! Plus Two Easy Recipes

Holy cow, I can’t believe it’s already here again. I know it’s hard to believe, but I am actually NOT participating in Restaurant Week this time around. I did find this set of tips from Washingtonian on-point, however. I cannot emphasize number 1 and number 3 enough and think Todd Kliman’s 5 is true in some cases, but it depends on the restaurant for sure.

Why am I not going to Restaurant Week? I feel like it is a bit blasphemous. But I have a good excuse- I will be heading to Costa Rica for a wonderful, blissful nine days where I will take ALL sorts of pictures of Central American food to delight you all! So I’ve been saving some money so I can afford to splurge there.

In the meantime here are two amaaazing recipes that I’ve tried lately. Amazing as in so delicious, and SO easy!!! I can’t get over how easy these were to prepare.

First, Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomatoes a la Campbell’s. Than you Campbell’s soup for creating this delicious masterpiece.

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/4 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

1 shallot, finely chopped

1 can (10 3/4 ounces) Campbell’s® Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup(Regular or 98% Fat Free)- I actually used the 98% Fat Free and it was SO good.

3/4 cup water

1/4 cup thinly-sliced sun-dried tomatoes

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves

4 cups extra wide egg noodles, cooked and drained

1/4 cup shredded Pecorino Romano or Parmesan cheese (optional)

Thinly-sliced fresh basil leaves (optional)

  • Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a 10-inch skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken and cook for 10 minutes or until it’s well browned on both sides.  Remove the chicken from the skillet.
  • Heat the remaining oil in the skillet over medium heat.  Add the shallot and cook and stir for 2 minutes. Stir the soup, water, tomatoes, vinegar and chopped basil in the skillet.
  • Return the chicken to the skillet and heat to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low.  Cook for 5 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.  Serve the chicken and sauce over the noodles.  Sprinkle with the cheese and sliced basil, if desired.

This met the approval of two grown men. I used regular spaghetti pasta instead of egg noodles and it was still just as delicious.

Also, ignore the Campbell’s photo on their site and just smother that chicken in the sauce and make it all messy. I swear whoever invented cream of mushroom deserves a medal!

The other recipe I recently tried was another “easy” recipe from a huge corporation haha- Pilsbury Crescents. Okay, listen closely all males. The majority of females I talked to understand how crucial this product is for making practically ANYTHING taste delicious and also takes little to none effort. This stuff can seriously make about fifty different easy recipes and appetizers that you can casually bring to parties or make for dates and look impressive. I guess I am kind of blowing the secret, but it doesn’t matter because this stuff is so good it’s always a hit.

You can take crescent dough and wrap it in any kind of cheese. For a dinner and a party, I recently used the Pilsbury Raspberry Baked Brie recipe: Spread raspberry preserves and real raspberries on the top and wrapped crescent dough on top and on the bottom, coating in beaten egg and cooking for about 25 minutes. BAM! My friend’s mom has also done this with a gouda wheel, wrapped just in the crescent dough and spread across green apple slices- delicious summer appetizer with some white wine or sangria.

