A DC Foodie Relocates to San Francisco

I try to avoid writing about anything personal on this blog because I’m a little wary about sharing private things on the interwebs, but this post is going to stray from that format a little bit. So, if you don’t care about my life stop reading now hahaha.

In a little less than two weeks, I am moving to the Golden City! I began applying for jobs out there in December after I graduated from my Master’s program. My boyfriend has wanted to relocate to San Francisco for a while now; it just seems like the “land of opportunity” for the both of us career-wise. He’s in cyber security/systems engineering and I am in communications and there are plenty of companies hiring in both of those fields out there.

At first, I was very hesitant to move so far away from my family. I am a big baby, and I have lived in the Washington metro area since birth. Even for college, I only went two hours away to UVA. I made up my mind two years ago that I wanted to move out of DC, at least for a little, to experience something new. Of course, I had just started my grad school program, so I wasn’t going to be able to make any moves anytime soon.

Over those two years, I went back and forth about needing to move away from DC because it is such a fantastic city- I love my hometown! I ultimately decided, however, it would always be one of those “life regrets” if I didn’t do it. I’m young, no kids, no commitments– it had to be done.

This past year has also had a lot of ups and downs for me on a personal level. Friends start to move in different directions, relatives get older and pass on, you’re more aware of your parents’ struggles, basically sh** gets real. I know a lot of people refer to this today as the “quarter-life crisis”, or label it as a transitional period. Our parents or older generations think this is a cop-out and basically say “hello, and welcome to life” hahaha. I’m fine with either interpretation- all I know is a lot of people I talk to around my age all share similar feelings and realizations. I don’t want to make it sound like we all hate our lives– that’s definitely not the case, but a lot of people need time to adjust or realize they need to start making some big changes on their own to get to where they want to go in life. I think this was definitely the case for me and my move!

I didn’t think I needed to go as far as the West Coast for this, but the opportunities in San Francisco just seemed too great to pass up as I continued to research jobs. I also kept hearing about what a fantastic city it is from many people, and these weird “signs” kept popping up and pointing to San Francisco (or maybe I was just noticing the city being referenced more often? but I’m going to take them as signs).

I then stumbled across a job that had a description that just seemed like it was written for me. I fit all the qualifications and there is a lot of potential for growth with this position. It’s also in an industry I have grown to love- the AEC or architecture, engineering, and construction industry. I actually grew up in the industry- my father owns the construction management firm I work at now, and I have made wonderful friends in professional organizations like CMAA and SMPS. So it just seemed like the right move and the right time, and fortunately they thought I was a good fit because I got the job!  I am very excited and can’t wait to start. It’s going to be a lot of work- they’re basically revamping all of their communications, but that’s one of the things I loved most about the opportunity. That, and the company having a woman CEO. In this industry, it’s still pretty unheard of.

So, thankfully, my boyfriend was able to secure a transfer through his work and we are both moving out there together and are really excited about our new adventure! San Francisco is, after all,  Michelin-rated, so I know the foodie part of me will be more than satisfied, and I will have a lot to explore!

I am going to miss EVERYONE I know in DC so so so much. Leaving my family and the majority of my friends is going to be one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. It is time for me to put on my big girl pants though, and spend some time away. Anyone who has grown up in this area knows how easy it is to get caught in the same routine and circles. I’m looking forward to the change and personal growth that will come from this experience.

As of now, I’m planning on maintaining this blog and sharing my food adventures out west (and of course when I come back to visit the DC area!). It’s going to take me a couple of weeks to get settled, but I’ll be back eventually. Ta ta for now!

